Did you know that the helmet laws and requirements vary from state to state? Below outlines the requirements for Colorado.
In Colorado, there is an age-specific helmet use law. What this means for Coloradan licensed motorcycle drivers is that if you are under the age of 18, a helmet is required to be worn by law. 18+ it is up to the driver whether or not they wear a helmet*.
There is also an exemption in Colorado for wearing a helmet. This exemption pertains to those who are riding in a 3 wheeled vehicle that does not exceed 25 miles per hour and has a windshield and seat belts.
Failure to wear a helmet under the rules outlined by Colorado law can lead to a $100 fine (for the first offense) and additional sanctions for every violation following the first.
Please check out the the Summary of Vehicle Occupant Protection and Motorcycle Laws (14th ed.) for more information on Colorado and other state laws regarding motorcycles.
*Please note that we strongly recommend you wear a helmet while driving your motorcycle to ensure your safety, no matter what your age is.